About the Award


  The Tampa Bay Chapter of the Association of Fundraising            Professionals honors Lloyd Horton's legacy with an award to a  deserving member that demonstrates success in their career and is  nominated by their peers.

 Which AFP member has been an exceptional role model for you  since you joined AFP? Have they mentored you, shared their  professional experiences with others and held to the ethical  practices observed by our profession and AFP? If so, they could be  a candidate for the Lloyd Horton Lifetime Achievement Award.

 Any chapter members may nominate a fellow member for this prestigious award. Nominations are reviewed by the Lloyd Horton Award committee and if a qualified representative is selected, they will be named at November’s National Philanthropy Day Award ceremonies and then honored at a separate function at a later date.

Nominees must meet this criteria:

  • Served at least 15 years as a professional in the field of development
  • Dedicated to the profession of philanthropy
  • Holds a CFRE certification or higher (preferred)
  • Demonstrated significant accomplishment in the community (may be capital campaign, impact on lives of people, long-term commitment to an organization)
  • Demonstrated creativity in the profession (perhaps a founder, innovative in some way, creator)
  • Served as a mentor to others in the profession
  • Served the chapter and shown involvement in the profession beyond the chapter
  • Demonstrated ethical standards during career
  • Has made contributions to the community outside job requirements (served on other boards, for example)
  • Earned the respect of others in the field

    About Lloyd:

    Lloyd Horton, former development officer with Virginia Episcopal School and Eckerd College and former Executive Vice President of All Children’s Hospital Foundation, was in fundraising for over 40 years. During his tenure at All Children’s Hospital from 1973-2000, the Foundation generated over $150 million for the hospital’s treatment, teaching, and research services for children.

    On the national and international levels, Lloyd has been a Certified Fundraising Executive in the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) and a Fellow in the Association for Healthcare Philanthropy (AHP) since 1980. In both organizations, he held many positions of leadership, both on the local chapter levels and on the national/international levels. He served as Chairman of AHP in 1996, and a board member of AFP where he was Chairman of the Ethics Committee from 1999 – 2002. He was the recipient of AHP’s 1999 Si Seymour Award, the highest award given to a healthcare fundraising executive. He was a founding director of the Tampa Bay Chapter of AFP, where he served as the chapter’s second president for two years. In 1985, the chapter selected him as the Outstanding Fundraising Executive, and in 2002, the chapter established J. Lloyd Horton Lifetime Achievement Award in his honor.

    Lloyd was a founding director and the president of the Suncoast Estate Planning Council. He was a member of the Pinellas County Estate Planning Council and the National Committee on Planned Giving, and was president of the Tampa Bay Area Planned Giving Council. In 1996, he received the St. Petersburg American Red Cross Codicil Award for exceptional leadership and achievement in the development of charitable planned giving.

    Lloyd volunteered in a wide range of charitable programs in the Tampa Bay area. In 1999-2001, he served as founding co-chair of the Leave A Legacy program for the region. He was a founding director of the Community Health Centers of Pinellas County and served as its chairman from 1987 to 1993. In 1996, he was recognized by the Florida Association of Community Health Centers with the Outstanding Innovative Leadership Award. He was a founding director of the Ronald McDonald House of Tampa Bay, the American Stage Company, and the Circle of Children Day Care Center. He served on the board of The Florida Orchestra and was its chairman of the Development Committee. In 2000, the Family Service Centers of Pinellas County honored the entire Horton family as The Family of the Year.

    Lloyd is a Presbyterian elder, and is currently active in his church in Asheville, NC. He serves as a Vice-President of the Asheville Symphony and as a Trustee of Warren Wilson College. He and his wife, Carolyn, have three grown daughters, a foster son, and six grandchildren. He enjoys painting, hiking, and sailing.

    Past Winners:

    Lloyd Horton
    Paul Kralovanec
    Sarah Jordan Holmes
    (honored posthumously)
    Barbara Pennington
    Nancy Brown
    E. Paul Dietrich
    Nina Berkheiser
    Dan Gura
    Jane Egbert
    Jane Arnett
    Holly Duncan
    Joanne Sullivan
    Grant Martin

    Melody Marrs


    Debbie Gavalas

    Copyright AFP Tampa Bay © 2022 | All Rights Reserved 
    AFP Tampa Bay PO Box 1134 . St. Petersburg, FL 33731 | Email: admin@afptampabay.org
    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software